The Organisation

Upendo is kiswahili and means “love“.

The UPENDO-Children’s Village in Ukunda offers the children a steady home. These children are either orphans or abandoned by there parents. Most oft them were assigned to our village by the Distict Officer of the Children’s Department in Kwale. Most of them have made sad, often terrible experiences. In the village they obtain loving care and promotion in a familiar atmosphere.

We are glad to see happy, candid children, how they sing and play and laugh together. Two fine dormhouses each for 20 children provide the exterior shelter. The big main house is the center oft the Upendo-family and there is a lot of place for games and sports on the beautiful property.

The house mothers care for the children’s sake while our cook Juma provides good and diversified meals. Education is of high priority to us, as it guides the children to self responsibility. Since April 2009 we offer schoolsponsorships, to provide a good schoolish education, which are amended by the UPENDO-Educational-Fond.

Die Organisation

UPENDO ist Kiswahili und bedeutet „Liebe“.

Das UPENDO-Children“s Village in Ukunda bietet Kindern ein dauerhaftes Zuhause. Diese Kinder sind entweder Vollwaisen oder von ihren Eltern verlassen worden. Die meisten Kinder werden uns von dem District Officer des Children“s Department in Kwale zugewiesen. Die Kleinen haben traurige, oft furchtbare Erlebnisse hinter sich. Sie erfahren im Waisendorf liebevolle Zuwendung und werden in familiärer Atmosphäre gefördert.

Zwei schöne Schlafhäuser für je 20 Kinder bieten zurzeit den beschützenden äußeren Rahmen. Das große Haupthaus ist der Lebensmittelpunkt der UPENDO-Familie. Auf dem herrlichen Grundstück ist genug Platz für Sport und Spiel.

In der Anlage kümmern sich die Mütter um das Wohl der Kinder. Für eine gute und abwechslungsreiche Ernährung sorgt unser Koch Juma. Die schulische und berufliche Ausbildung und damit die Eigenständigkeit der Kinder sind uns sehr wichtig. Damit die Kinder auch eine gute schulische Ausbildung erhalten, haben wir ab April 2009 Schulpatenschaften angeboten, die mittlerweile durch den UPENDO-Bildungsfond ergänzt werden.