There’s lots to do! An update from the village

Corona is and continues to remain a topic in Kenya and it is sometimes therefore difficult to get an accurate picture of the situation there when looking at it from abroad. However, we are in contact with Purity and Jane, who have taken over the interim management as well as the accounting and controlling on site and report to us daily. Fortunately, all children and adults in the village are in good health.

Our village remains in lockdown. The doors are only opened for shopping and the most urgent repairs. Since the schools are still closed, this is where the children do their homework. And when they aren’t doing that, it is also where they dance and play in the fresh air.

New challenges – there is much to do!

It slowly became apparent to us that our village has been around for 13 years now and is in need of many repairs. Termites have chewed through a lot of the cables, so we currently have to completely redo the electrical system. But, at the moment, other repairs are also urgently needed. In addition to the electrical wiring, things like painting, putting up mosquito nets and installing new stovepipes for the kitchen need to be done.

Some of our children are facing a completely new challenge that has nothing to do with the virus: They are growing up! And that means job training, studying, and living alone. We will report about these changes.

About the Author

Es gibt viel zu tun! Ein Update aus dem Dorf

Corona ist und bleibt auch in Kenia weiter ein Thema und so ist es manchmal schwer, aus der Ferne ein wirklichkeitsnahes Bild auf die dortige Situation zu bekommen. Wir stehen aber in täglichem Austausch mit Purity und Jane, die das Interimsmanagement bzw. die Buchhaltung und das Controlling vor Ort übernommen haben und uns täglich berichten. Alle Kinder und Erwachsenen im Waisendorf sind zum Glück wohl auf.

Unser Dorf bleibt weiter im Lockdown. Nur zum Einkaufen und für die dringendsten Reparaturen öffnen wir unsere Tore. Die Kinder erledigen hier ihre Hausaufgaben, da die Schulen noch immer nicht geöffnet sind, tanzen und spielen viel an der frischen Luft.

Neue Herausforderungen – es gibt viel zu tun!

Langsam merkt man unserem Dorf an, dass wir nunmehr schon seit 13 Jahren existieren. Viele Reparaturen stehen an: Termiten haben eine Vielzahl der Kabel im Boden zerfressen, so dass wir derzeit die Elektrik komplett erneuern müssen. Aber auch andere Reparaturen sind gerade dringend notwendig. Neben Malerarbeiten müssen beispielsweise Moskitonetze erneuert werden oder die Ofenrohre für die Küche.

Aber auch einige unserer Kinder stehen vor ganz neuen Herausforderungen, die nichts mit dem Virus zu tun haben: Sie werden langsam erwachsen. Und das heißt: Ausbildung, Studium, alleine Wohnen. Wir werden von diesen neuen Wegen berichten.

Über den Autor